(Photo courtesy of Jeff McLennan)
Regular Pitot House Hours:
Open Wednesday - Saturday from 10:00 AM - 3:00 PM.
Please arrive by 2:15 PM for a tour of the house.
$10 Regular Admission
$7 Students/Seniors (65+)
FREE for Landmarks Members and National Trust Members
Located on historic Bayou St. John, the Pitot House is the only Creole colonial country house that is open to the public in New Orleans. It tells the story of life along the bayou since the earliest days of settlement. The Pitot House has had a variety of owners from prominent lawyers to austere nuns. One of the most prominent was James Pitot, the first mayor of New Orleans after the city's incorporation who lived here from 1810-1819. The Pitot House is a National Trust for Historic Preservation Partner Place. Click here for more information on the National Trust.
In the 1960s, the Louisiana Landmarks Society painstakingly restored the Pitot House, with its stucco-covered, brick-between-post construction and double-pitched hipped roof, to the time period of James Pitot's habitation. The house has been furnished with Louisiana and American antiques that date from the early 1800s through mid-nineteenth century. Today, the Louisiana Landmarks Society uses the house as its headquarters, opens it for tours, and rents out the lawn and gardens for special events.
The 10,000 square foot side yard is the perfect spot for almost any occasion. Guests can enjoy the lovely gardens and view of Bayou St. John while they sip cocktails and revel in true southern hospitality. Experience early Louisiana at its best and see the Pitot House on your next visit to New Orleans!